The Greenville Housing Authority
More >


The Greenville Housing Authority is a corporate body organized pursuant to Title 31, Chapters 3 and 11 of the laws of the State of South Carolina. The jurisdiction of TGHA includes all incorporated and unincorporated areas of the County of Greenville, South Carolina, excluding the City of Greer. The Housing Authority is governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners. Members of the Board are appointed by the Mayor of Greenville and ratified by City Council. One member must be a resident of a TGHA property or program. Commissioners serve for five years and have unlimited terms.

The Greenville Housing Authority was created in 1938 and for many years built, owned, and managed traditional public housing pursuant to Section 9 of the 1937 Federal Housing Act. In recent years, TGHA has redeveloped its largest public housing communities under the Federal HOPE VI program using multiple mixed-finance methods, including Low Income Housing Tax Credits, to create new mixed-income communities.

Today, TGHA owns and/or manages a real estate portfolio of three traditional Public Housing communities with 132 units; one Rental Assistance Demonstration community with 109 units; five Mixed Finance/LIHTC communities consisting of a total of 472 units; and five Tax Credit only communities consisting of 286 units. The Mixed Finance communities include Public Housing, Project Based Section 8 assisted units, and Tax Credit units. In addition to these multi-family rental communities, TGHA administers 2,780 tenant-based vouchers; a homeownership program; and a rental assistance program for homeless veterans. TGHA also administers a multitude of resident support and service programs under various HUD and non-HUD grants.